Ind vs Aus 2017 news : Injured Hardik Pandya omitted from India Test Squad

India Test Team 2016
India Test Team 2016

Related Links : India vs Australia 2017 Test Series Schedule | Ind vs Aus 2nd Test Scorecard

Ind vs Aus 2017 news : India have omitted all-rounder Hardik Pandya from their 16-man squad for the remaining two Tests of the Ind vs Aus Test Series 2017.

Hardik Pandya, who is yet to make his Test debut has been released from the squad following a shoulder injury.

Meanwhile, opener Murali Vijay who had to miss the second Test at Bangalore due to shoulder injury has been retained. Should he be fit, Murali Vijay is expected to come in the place of Abhinav Mukund who scored a duck and 16 in his comeback Test match.

Abhinav Mukund was lucky not to be dropped despite looking unconvincing in the Bangalore Test match.

India Test Team 2016
India Test Team 2016

On the other hand, there is quite some time for Murali Vijay to recover from his injury which he had sustained while fielding in the opening Test at Pune. Murali Vijay would be playing his 50th Test match at Ranchi if he can recover on time.

Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami who have returned to competitive cricket after a gap due to injuries were not selected. While Rohit Sharma suffered from a protracted thigh problem, fast bowler Mohammed Shami was out due to a knee problem.

Both the match-winners had played a match each in the ongoing 50-over Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017 but their match fitness is to be tested in a longer version of the game.

Injuries continue to concern the Indian team with Lokesh Rahul sustaining a shoulder injury in the first Test and Cheteshwar Pujara conceding that he had to battle sore neck during his match-winning knock of 92 in the second innings of the Bangalore Test match.

The 4-match India vs Australia Test Series 2017 is well poised at 1-1 with the crucial third Test to begin on March 16 at Ranchi which will be making its Test debut. It will be followed by the fourth and final Test match at the picturesque Dharamsala from March 25 which will become the third venue after Pune and Ranchi to host its first ever Test during the Ind vs Aus Test Series 2017.

India Test Squad for Ranchi and Dharamsala Tests

Virat Kohli (Captain), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Abhinav Mukund, Karun Nair, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (Wicket Keeper), Ishant Sharma, Murali Vijay, Jayant Yadav, Umesh Yadav and Kuldeep Yadav

1 Comment

Comments are closed.