Cricket Australia announces fixtures for 2021-22 summer season

Image courtesy of jorono from Pixabay.

Cricket Australia has announced the home fixtures for the 2021-22 summer season, which includes the five-match Ashes series. The Australia vs England test series, aka the Vodafone Ashes Series, will be played from 8 December 2021 with the opening test match at The Gabba in Brisbane. The fifth and final test is scheduled to be played at the Perth Stadium from 14 January 2022.

The Ashes series is always going to be exciting and nervous for the betting fraternity. Avail the bet365 bonus code for new customers to gear up for one of the biggest cricketing series of the season.

The second test match of Ashes 2021-2022 will be a day-night affair to be held at the Adelaide Oval from 16 December.

As always, the Boxing Day test match will be at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, which is the third of the series, while the fourth test match will be at the Sydney Cricket Ground from 5 January 2022.

Image courtesy of jorono from Pixabay.

Schedule of the Vodafone Ashes Series 2021-2022

December 8-12 – Australia vs England Ashes 1st Test at The Gabba

December 16-20: Australia vs England Ashes 2nd Test at Adelaide Oval (Day-night)

December 26-30: Australia vs England Ashes 3rd Test at Melbourne Cricket Ground

January 5- 9: Australia vs England Ashes 4th Test at Sydney Cricket Ground

January 14-18: Australia vs England Ashes 5th Test at Perth Stadium

Prior to the Vodafone Ashes Series 2021-2022, Australia will play a one-off Test match against minnows Afghanistan at the Blundstone Arena (formerly the Bellerive Oval) in Hobart. This will be the first ever test match to be played by Afghanistan in Australia and also marks the first ever test match between the two countries.

Australia vs Afghanistan test match will be played from 27 November 2021.

Apart from the six test matches, Australia will be hosting New Zealand for three ODIs and a one-off T20I.

Australia vs New Zealand 2022 Schedule

January 30 : Australia vs New Zealand 1st ODI at Perth

February 02: Australia vs New Zealand 2nd ODI at Blundstone Arena (day/night)

February 05: Australia vs New Zealand 3rd ODI at Sydney (day/night)

February 08: Australia vs New Zealand T20 at Manuka Oval

After the series against New Zealand, Australia will play a five-match T20 series against Sri Lanka with all of the games to be day/night affairs.

Australia vs Sri Lanka T20 Series 2022 Schedule

February 11: Australia vs Sri Lanka 1st T20 at Sydney Cricket Ground

February 13: Australia vs Sri Lanka 2nd T20 at The Gabba

February 15: Australia vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20 at Metricon Stadium in Carrara

February 18: Australia vs Sri Lanka 4th T20 at Adelaide Oval

February 20: Australia vs Sri Lanka 5th T20 at Melbourne Cricket Ground

Nick Hockley – Cricket Australia Interim CEO said: “International touring and associated quarantine means additional work and sacrifice for all involved, and we would like to extend our sincere thanks to everyone coming to Australia this summer – the England and Wales Cricket Board, the Board of Control for Cricket in India, the Afghanistan Cricket Board, New Zealand Cricket and Sri Lanka Cricket – for agreeing to send teams to Australia this summer.

“The 2020-21 summer produced one of the greatest Test series ever, and this season promises to be just as big, if not bigger. The drama of the Ashes rivalry, the intrigue of a first-ever Test against Afghanistan, the passion of an Australia-India series and the excitement of white ball series against New Zealand and Sri Lanka is an extraordinary line-up which will see the best players competing on the world stage right across Australia.”