Marcus Stoinis smashes new highest individual score in BBL history

Marcus Stoinis created a new record in Big Bash League (BBL) history by smashing the new highest individual score in the T20 competition with his 147 not out for Melbourne Stars against Sydney Sixers on Sunday.

The 30-year-old Australian all-rounder beat the previous record held by D’Arcy Short for Hobart Hurricanes, who scored 122 not out in 69 balls against Brisbane Heat in BBL 2018.

Marcus Stoinis comfortably beat the previous record by some distance, scoring his 147* in 79 balls with 13 fours and eight sixes. We are sure that you are inspired by the heroics of the all-rounder and would like to do something similar online by checking the SugarHouse promotions on offer.

Opening the batting alongside Hilton Cartwright (59), Marcus Stoinis helped Melbourne Stars post 219 for 1 in Match 34 of BBL 2019/20 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Thanks to the imposing total, Melbourne Stars defeated Sydney Sixers by 44 runs.

Marcus Stoinis. Photo courtesy of from Sydney, Australia/

According to the BBC, Melbourne Stars piled up the third highest total ever in BBL history.

Following his blistering knock, Marcus Stoinis tops the highest runs scorer list in BBL 2019/20 with 478 runs from nine innings.

The Western Australian cricketer has been one of the regulars in the national team thanks to his big hitting abilities in the lower middle order along with his useful medium pace bowling.

Till date, Marcus Stoinis played 41 ODIs, scoring 1050 runs at a modest average of 33.87. Having made his ODI debut in 2015 against England at Leeds, the all-rounder has a century and half a dozen fifties. With the ball, Marcus Stoinis has taken 33 wickets with a career best of 3/16.

The Western Australian has also played 19 T20Is and is yet to hit a fifty.

Top five highest individual scores in BBL history

Marcus Stoinis (147* from 79 balls) for Melbourne Stars in 2020

D’Arcy Short (122* in 69 balls) for Hobart Hurricanes in 2018

Luke Wright (117 in 60 balls) for Melbourne Stars in 2012

Jake Weatherald (115 in 70 balls) for Adelaide Strikers in 2018

Ben McDermott (114 in 52 balls) for Hobart Hurricanes in 2017