Parvez Rasool photo

India add Mishra, Rasool in T20 squad to rest Ashwin, Jadeja

India T20 Squad for England T20 Series – Hosts India have made changes to its originally announced T20 squad for the series against England by resting frontline spinners R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.

The selectors have added Jammu and Kashmir off-spinning all-rounder Parvez Rasool and leggie Amit Mishra as their replacement.

India T20 squad vs England 2017 also has another leg spinner in Yuzvendra Chahal.

The India vs England T20 Series begins at Kanpur, on January 26, India’s Republic Day.

Parvez Rasool photo
Parvez Rasool. Photo courtesy of BCCI.

It will be a comeback of sorts for Parvez Rasool who did manage to play an ODI for India, which was against Bangladesh at Dhaka in 2014. Parveez Rasool who bowls flattish off breaks and a big hitter of the ball has lost out to Jayant Yadav who has made his mark in all formats of the game.

With Jayant Yadav injured, Parvez Rasool is back in the reckoning.

In the recently concluded Ranji Trophy 2016/17, Parvez Rasool helped himself with 38 wickets with a healthy average of 23.86.

The Indian team has the exciting 19-year-old Delhi wicket keeper batsman Rishabh Pant who has made name for his explosive batting style. All the interest in the T20 series will be on Rishabh Pant but whether he will get a game is highly doubtful due to the presence of another wicket keeper batsman in MS Dhoni.

India T20 Squad for England T20 Series

KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Virat Kohli (Captain), MS Dhoni (Wicket Keeper), Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant (Wicket Keeper), Hardik Pandya, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra

Leave a Reply