England is Among the Favourites to win the T20 World Cup 2022

The T20 Men’s World Cup is coming closer, and this will be the 8th edition of this exciting event. Australia hosts the tournament, and the starting date of the tournament is scheduled for the 16th of October and will end on the 13th of November.

Sixteen teams will battle it out for the T20 crown. The article looks at who has qualified and who the favourite teams to win the whole tournament are.

Photo courtesy of AaDil on Unsplash.

Teams that have qualified

The eight teams that finished top in the last tournament automatically qualified for this tournament. Then there are Scotland, Sri Lanka, Namibia, and West Indies, who have also eligible for the event.

Recently, the United Arab Emirates and Ireland overcame their challenges and made it through to the T20 World Cup.  There are only two spots left to be filled for the prestigious event.

The top 8 teams from the previous Men’s T20 World Cup have been split into two groups. And they are:

Group A:

  •  Afghanistan
  •  Australia
  •  England
  • New Zealand

Group B:

  •  Bangladesh
  •  India
  •  Pakistan
  • South Africa

We have narrowed it down to four teams that we think will make it to the top four of the tournament.


Our favourite to win the splashing competition is none other than England. Eoin Morgan captains the England side, and they were the most dominating team at the last world cup until they succumbed to New Zea Land in the semi-final.

The team is well balanced, and they have a very long batting order with Ben Stokes always ready to deliver a masterclass performance. They also possess excellent bowlers that can extract extra bounce from the Australian wickets.

England star bowler Jofra Archer will also likely return to the squad after being absent a long time and missing out on the last world cup because of injury. With this ace up their sleeve, many punters predict England can go all the way.


The home-field advantage always plays a significant role in any tournament, which Australia will have in this tournament. To add to that, they are the defending champions of the T20 world cup, under the captaincy of Aaron Finch, and possess one of the most dangerous batting attacks in the tournament. The pace attack is also a treat.


At tournaments, the Pakistan cricket team comes alive. They were exceptional during the group stage in the last T20 World Cup group stage, not losing any matches. However, they fell short in the semi-finals to eventual winners Australia. 


A cricket team list is never complete without mentioning the Indians. Rohit Sharma, the captain of India, will feel he has a point to prove after the Indian team failed to get past the group stage in the last T20 World Cup. Virat Kholi will also be able to express himself more without worrying about the captaincy, and this will make for exciting viewing. However, if you can’t wait so long, you can always catch a live cricket match today to calm all of your excitement for a while.


All these teams are great, but only two will be able to reach the final. Because of being in their back yard Australia is expected to reach the final. England, led by Eoin Morgan, and their x-factor of players like Johnny, Stokes, and Archer will also ensure they get to the final match. What happens beyond that? We will just have to wait and see!